How to get your AWS certification?


Amazon Web Services (AWS) is a leading cloud services provider, and obtaining an AWS certification can significantly boost your career in the ever-expanding field of cloud computing. AWS certifications validate your expertise in various cloud-related roles and technologies, making you a more attractive candidate to employers and clients. In this article, we will walk you through the steps to How to get your AWS certification?

Step 1: Choose Your Certification Path

AWS offers a wide range of certifications, each tailored to different roles and expertise levels. Begin by selecting the certification that aligns with your career goals and current skillset. Here are some popular AWS certifications to consider:

  1. AWS Certified Solutions Architect
  2. AWS Certified Developer
  3. AWS Certified SysOps Administrator
  4. AWS Certified DevOps Engineer
  5. AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner (Entry-level)
  6. AWS Certified Security – Specialty
  7. AWS Certified Data Analytics – Specialty
  8. AWS Certified Machine Learning – Specialty

Step 2: Prepare for the Exam

Once you’ve chosen your certification, it’s time to prepare for the exam. AWS provides official study resources, including documentation, whitepapers, and online training courses. Additionally, you can use third-party resources like books, video courses, and practice exams to supplement your learning.

Key preparation steps include:

a. Official AWS Documentation: Familiarize yourself with AWS services and concepts by reading AWS documentation, whitepapers, and FAQs. This will help you understand the services in-depth.

b. Online Training: Enroll in AWS’s official online training courses, which often include hands-on labs and practice exams. These courses are designed to cover the exam objectives comprehensively.

c. Practice Exams: Use practice exams to assess your readiness and identify areas where you need to improve. There are both free and paid practice exams available online.

d. Hands-On Experience: Gain practical experience by working on AWS projects or labs. AWS offers a free tier that allows you to experiment with various services without incurring charges.

e. Study Groups: Join AWS study groups or forums to discuss topics with other aspiring candidates. You can gain valuable insights and tips from those who have already passed the exam.

Step 3: Register for the Exam

After you’ve thoroughly prepared, it’s time to register for the exam. You can do this through the AWS Certification website. Be sure to select a convenient testing location and date.

Step 4: Take the Exam

On the day of your exam, arrive at the testing center with sufficient time to spare. Remember to bring two forms of identification, as well as any required documentation. The exam format typically consists of multiple-choice questions, multiple-answer questions, and scenario-based questions.

Step 5: Pass the Exam

Passing the AWS certification exam requires a score of 720 or higher (on a scale of 100-1000). If you pass, congratulations! You will receive an official certificate from AWS and gain access to the AWS Certified logo for use on your resume and LinkedIn profile.

Step 6: Maintain and Renew Your Certification

AWS certifications are valid for three years. To maintain your certification, you can either retake the current version of the exam or pursue a higher-level certification. AWS often releases updated versions of their certifications to align with the latest technologies and services, so staying current is essential.


Obtaining an AWS certification can open doors to exciting career opportunities in cloud computing. It requires careful preparation and dedication, but the rewards in terms of career advancement and earning potential make it a worthwhile investment. Follow the steps outlined in this guide, choose the certification that suits your goals, and embark on your journey to becoming an AWS certified professional. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

© 2023 THEWION - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy