What is the eligibility for AWS?

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is one of the leading cloud service providers in the world, offering a wide range of cloud computing services and solutions to individuals, businesses, and organizations. AWS certifications are highly regarded in the IT industry, and they can significantly boost your career prospects. But what is the eligibility for AWS certification?

AWS Certification Overview

AWS offers a variety of certifications, each targeting different roles and skill levels. These certifications are categorized into four main levels:

  1. Foundational: This level is ideal for individuals who are new to AWS and want to build a foundational understanding of cloud computing.
  2. Associate: These certifications are suitable for individuals with some experience in AWS who want to demonstrate their expertise in specific areas.
  3. Professional: Professional-level certifications are designed for individuals with extensive experience in AWS and a deep understanding of specific domains.
  4. Specialty: Specialty certifications are for professionals who want to showcase their expertise in niche areas of AWS, such as security, machine learning, and networking.

Eligibility Criteria for AWS Certification

The eligibility criteria for AWS certification exams can vary depending on the specific certification you’re interested in. However, there are some general guidelines to keep in mind:

  1. No Formal Educational Requirement: AWS does not require candidates to have a formal educational background or degree to pursue their certifications. This means that anyone with the requisite knowledge and experience can apply for AWS certifications.
  2. Hands-on Experience: It’s crucial to have hands-on experience with AWS services. AWS recommends a minimum of one year of practical experience using AWS services before attempting the Associate-level certifications. For the Professional and Specialty certifications, multiple years of hands-on experience are often necessary.
  3. Prerequisite Certifications: Some AWS certifications have prerequisite certifications that you must earn before you can attempt the higher-level certifications. For example, you may need to pass an Associate-level certification before pursuing a Professional-level certification.
  4. Training Courses: While not mandatory, AWS offers training courses and materials that can help you prepare for their certifications. These courses can be a valuable resource for both beginners and experienced professionals.
  5. Study and Preparation: Regardless of your background, you will need to study and prepare for AWS certification exams. AWS provides detailed exam guides and sample questions to help you get ready.
  6. Age Requirement: AWS certifications are available to individuals aged 13 and older. However, if you are between 13 and 17 years old, you must have parental consent to take an AWS certification exam.
  7. Registration and Fees: You can register for AWS certification exams through the AWS Certification Portal. Keep in mind that there are exam fees associated with each certification, and these fees can vary depending on the level of the certification.


AWS certifications are a valuable asset in today’s IT job market, and they can help you stand out as a skilled and knowledgeable cloud professional. While there are no strict educational requirements, having hands-on experience with AWS services is essential. Take the time to prepare thoroughly, consider taking AWS training courses, and ensure that you meet any specific prerequisites for the certification you’re interested in. With dedication and effort, you can earn an AWS certification and advance your career in cloud computing.

Leave a Reply

© 2023 THEWION - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy